(063) 221-6069 iligan.city@deped.gov.ph

History of Iligan DepEd Iligan

Brief Profile of Iligan City

The City of Iligan is located in the Northern coast of Mindanao facing Iligan Bay, bounded in the north by the province of Misamis Orienal, in the east by the province of Bukidnon and Lanao del Sur and in the south by the province of Lanao del Norte.
It is approximately 795 kilometers southwest of Metro Manila, at the boundaries of Region 10 and 12.
Iligan City covers an area of no less than 81,337 sq.km. comprising of 44 barangays with Type C Climate. Rainfall is evenly distributed thougout the year.

  • Scenic places of interest:
  • Anahaw Amphitheater,
  • Buhanginan Hill-Seat of the Iligan City Government
  • Maria Cristina Falls and NPC Nature’s Park with Tree-top Zipline Adventure
  • Timoga Springs & Swimming Polls
  • Mimbalut Falls-Iligan Paradise and Eco Park
  • Limunsudan Bayug Falls
  • Doddiongan Falls
  • Tinago Falls
  • Hindang Falls
  • Maze Park Resort
  • Macaraeg-Macapagal Ancestral House
  • Dalipuga Centennial Park
  • City Plaza Night Café

It become a chartered city on June 16, 1950 per RA 525, which included among its charter the creation of Iligan City as a separate School Division. It was in 1963 that the Municipal Board passed Resolution # 208 separating Iligan City Division from Lanao del Norte. It was however, only in September 1964 that the Division of Iligan City was finally installed with the then Iligan City District as its nucleus of learning institution in the locality.
From its modest birth, the Division of Iligan City has painstakingly grown to its present status of thirteen (13) elementary school districts with one (1) primary and eighty-one (81) elementary schools, thirty (30) public secondary schools including annexesand integrated schools. Private schools has fifty three (53) elementary and twenty eight secondary schools.
The past eleven (11) superintendents have rendered excellent performances to served Iligan City Division with overwhelming dedication and utmost commitment. Presently, at the helm, is an intelligent young and amiable but dynamic Schools Division Superintendent, Randolph B. Tortola, CESO VI along with the newly installed Asst. Schools Division Superintendent, Olga C. Alonsabe.